Dementia Friendly Communities Toolkit

The ACT on Alzheimer's® Toolkit has four phases that guide communities in adopting dementia-friendly practices.

Convene Action Phase 1
Assess Action Phase 2
Analyze Action Phase 3
ACT Together Action Phase 4

Action Phase 1:  Convene key community leaders and members to understand dementia and its implications for your community. Then, form an Action Team.  (Up to 4 months)
Action Phase 2:  Assess current community strengths and gaps concerning dementia using questionnaires in the toolkit.  (Up to 3 months)
Action Phase 3:  Analyze the community assessment findings and determine action priorities for your community.  (Up to 2 months)
Action Phase 4:  Create a community action plan and take action community-wide to become dementia friendly.  (Up to 2 months and ongoing)

What is a dementia friendly community?

Health careResidential housingLegalFaith communitiesAction Resources: Independent Living and Meaningful EngagementLocal governmentTransportation and drivingBusinesses

The Dementia-Friendly Communities Toolkit is informed by research and is flexible and adaptable to a community’s needs.  Key resources for creating the toolkit were the University of Minnesota Extension's Civic Engagement and Community Readiness models:
Find these and related resources at the Extension Center for Community Vitality website  
The ACT on Alzheimer's® Dementia Friendly Communities Toolkit, provider practice tools, dementia trainings, and related resources may be reproduced, adapted, or both when these restrictions are followed:
  • Acknowledgement of ACT on Alzheimer's must appear in print and online.  Use this citation: Reproduced (or Adapted) from ACT on Alzheimer's® developed tools and resources.
  • ACT on Alzheimer's® developed tools and resources cannot be sold in their original form or in a modified/adapted form.